Pfretzschner violin

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Cara Lee

Cara Lee

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 September 2000 - 03:02 PM

I am looking for a new violin and would like to sell the one I currently use. Its label says 1965, Mittenwald, ER Pfretzschner. It also has a label, which says Roth, shop adjusted 1965. Can anyone tell me what it is worth?

#2 Lee Essayan

Lee Essayan

• Members
  • 381 posts

Posted 06 September 2000 - 05:30 PM

I asked a similar question (see my post of August 21 and response) except that my interest was as a buyer, not a seller.

I went ahead and bought it (on eBay, of all places) only because it was pretty and the price was right. It has since arrived, looks and sounds terrific. The guy selling it was a guitar guy and it came with a bunch of other instruments he wanted so he had to take the lot.

Mine was also adjusted at Scherl & Roth, Cleveland except that mine is a 1984.

I'm far from an expert, but from the absolute junk I've seen around, my guess is its worth a whole lot more than I paid.I guess I got lucky for a change.

I'd strongly urge you to get a professional opinion before parting with it!

#3 Cara Lee

Cara Lee

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 September 2000 - 09:02 AM

Thanks Lee. I am thinking about trading it in, and the person I am working with (a professional who wants to sell me a violin) has told me its worth about $750. I also found a site online which has a 1963 model listed at $900. It does sound great and is in excellent condition. I am guessing that is somewhere in that range. Would you agree?

#4 A. Brown

A. Brown

• Members
  • 334 posts

Posted 07 September 2000 - 09:47 AM

There are lots of these around. My experience (limited) is that they are built like tanks and good for school use, a mass-produced product likely not worth as much as you are thinking.

#5 Lee Essayan

Lee Essayan

• Members
  • 381 posts

Posted 07 September 2000 - 10:59 AM

Cara Lee