lion scroll

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 VanierJ

VanierJ

• New Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 12:35 AM

I recently purchased this violin from a local shop. I'm wondering where it was made and when and any clues as to its value. It has patches to the top allong the inner side of each F hole. I'm curious about these if anyone knows what may have happened here. It also has other cracks allong the top that seem to be repaired. It has no lable inside. I'm new to playing but to my ear and the violin shop owners this violin sounds pretty good. My resurch on the web seems to point toword it beeing made in germany between 1850 to 1925 or so. Anyone have any information?

https://picasaweb.go...feat=directlink

#2 jacobsaunders

jacobsaunders

We’ll be back

• Members
  • 4179 posts
  • Locationcastle near vienna

Posted 04 September 2012 - 08:54 AM

A cheap Schönbach (or nearby village) cottage industry production ca. turn of the 19th/20th C. where someone has seriously tampered with the sound holes. Of little or no comercial value.

#3 Dr_V

Dr_V

• Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 10:42 AM

Out of curiosity how much did the violin shop charge you?

#4 Richf

Richf

Enthusiast

• Members
  • 1540 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 11:11 AM

Those lion heads, despite their intricacy, are machine made. I don't know if there was one machine selling their scrolls all across Europe (they show up on french as well as german violins) or if shops could buy their own machine. Saxony is indeed the most common source, and if Jacob says Schonbach (in Saxony), then that's that.