• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Hank Schutz

Hank Schutz

• Members
  • 324 posts
  • LocationCentral VA

Posted 26 May 2006 - 01:19 PM

A few times in the past several months I have hoticed the following. When I play (violin) with added "intensity," for example, during a concert, my left bicep gets somewhat sore and my left hand and fingers experience a tingly numbness. It's similar to the feeling when my hand "falls asleep" from inadeqate circulation. After I stop playing, my hand returns to normal within 30-60 minutes.

I have been playing the violin for more than 5 decades. This is new, (althought of course I am getting older and more decrepid all the time). Any idea what might be going on? (Maybe it's cubital tunnel syndrome, which I hadn't heard of before reading the post on it.)

Ideas welcome.

HS
Hank Schutz
'Tis hard for an empty bag to stand upright! -- Benj. Franklin

#2 rutherford

rutherford

• Members
  • 130 posts

Posted 26 May 2006 - 01:28 PM

Hank,

Haven't a clue what's wrong with you but if it is any comfort my CTS diagnosis was preceded by pain rather than numbness and in the elbow rather than hand.

Best of luck.

Rutherford

#3 Gray Violiner

Gray Violiner

Creaky Old Lady

• Members
  • 3170 posts
  • LocationSunny South

Posted 26 May 2006 - 02:25 PM

Hank, it's really easy to tell whether it's carpal or cubital tunnel. With carpal tunnel, your thumb, forefinger and middle finger get numb. With cubital tunnel (unlnar nerve), it's your ring finger and pinkie finger. If it's ALL your fingers, you'd best get to a doctor and have it checked.